Power vs Force

Author: David R. Hawkins

Power vs. Force is a book written by David R. Hawkins, a psychiatrist and spiritual teacher, which explores the nature of human consciousness and the relationship between power and force. The book presents a powerful framework for understanding the dynamics of personal and social power, and how these forces can be harnessed to achieve positive change in one’s life and the world.

The central thesis of the book is that power is based on the intrinsic quality of a person’s consciousness, while force is based on external factors such as coercion or manipulation. Power, according to Hawkins, is the ability to influence others in a positive way, while force is the ability to compel them to do something against their will. Power is grounded in spiritual principles such as love, compassion, and forgiveness, while force is rooted in fear, anger, and aggression.

Hawkins argues that the level of consciousness of an individual determines the amount of power they have, and that this level can be measured using a scale called the Map of Consciousness. The scale ranges from 0 to 1000, with 0 representing the lowest level of consciousness, characterized by shame, guilt, and despair, and 1000 representing the highest level, characterized by enlightenment and pure awareness.

Throughout the book, Hawkins describes various levels of consciousness and how they relate to power and force. He argues that individuals at higher levels of consciousness have a greater capacity to influence others positively and create change in the world. He also highlights the importance of personal responsibility and self-awareness in the pursuit of power, emphasizing that true power comes from within.

The book also explores the dynamics of power and force in society, examining how these forces operate in politics, economics, and culture. Hawkins argues that societies that are based on force are inherently unstable and prone to conflict, while those based on power are more peaceful and harmonious.

Overall, Power vs. Force offers a compelling framework for understanding the dynamics of power and force in personal and social contexts. By emphasizing the importance of personal responsibility and spiritual principles, the book provides a roadmap for individuals and societies to harness the power of consciousness to create positive change.

The Map of Consciousness as defined by David Hawkins:

1000EnlightenmentPure awareness, transcendent, no personal identity
700-999DivineSelf-realization, highly evolved spiritual masters
600-699PeaceJoy, serenity, profound love, radiant health
500-599JoyUnconditional love, profound peace, profound gratitude
400-499ReasonUnderstanding, forgiveness, rationality, patience
300-399AcceptanceForgiveness, kindness, patience, inspiration
200-299WillingnessCourage, optimism, intention, creativity
175-199NeutralityFlexibility, acceptance, non-judgment
150-174CourageEmpowerment, self-confidence, altruism
125-149AcceptanceOptimism, willingness to learn
100-124FearAnxiety, anger, regret, despair
75-99GriefSadness, remorse, loss
50-74ApathyHelplessness, hopelessness, despair
25-49GuiltBlame, self-pity, remorse, shame
0-24ShameHumiliation, hopelessness, powerlessness

It’s worth noting that these levels are not meant to be a rigid classification of people, but rather a general guide for understanding the relative levels of consciousness. People can shift between levels depending on their life circumstances and personal growth.

Leave a Reply