Hierarchy of Angels [PART 1]

The concept of angels has been a prominent feature of many religions and spiritual beliefs around the world for thousands of years. Angels are generally considered to be supernatural beings who act as messengers or intermediaries between the divine realm and humanity. In many religious traditions, angels are believed to have various roles and responsibilities, and are often grouped into different categories or hierarchies. In this essay, we will explore the Kingdom of Angels and the various types of angels mentioned in different religious texts.

Kingdom of Angels

The Kingdom of Angels is a term used to describe the spiritual realm in which angels are believed to reside. According to many religious traditions, this realm exists beyond the physical world and is accessible only through spiritual or mystical means. The Kingdom of Angels is thought to be a place of immense beauty and purity, where angels live in perfect harmony with each other and with the divine.


In Christianity, angels are often depicted as messengers of God who carry out various tasks on His behalf. The most well-known angel in Christianity is Gabriel, who is said to have appeared to Mary to announce the birth of Jesus. Other angels mentioned in the Bible include Michael, Raphael, and Uriel, among others. These angels are often depicted as powerful and majestic beings, with wings and glowing halos.

Islamic Tradition

According to Islamic tradition, angels are believed to be created from light and are completely obedient to God. In Islam, angels are also divided into various categories, each with its own specific role and responsibility. The most well-known angels in Islam include Jibril, who is believed to have revealed the Quran to the Prophet Muhammad, and Mika’il, who is responsible for providing food and sustenance to all living creatures.

Judaic Tradition

In Judaism, angels are often seen as messengers and protectors of God’s people. The most well-known angel in Judaism is Gabriel, who is believed to have appeared to the prophet Daniel to reveal the meaning of his visions. Other angels mentioned in Jewish texts include Michael, Raphael, and Uriel, among others.


In Hinduism, angels are known as devas, and are believed to be responsible for maintaining the balance of the universe. The most well-known deva in Hinduism is Indra, who is the king of the gods and the lord of the heavens. Other devas mentioned in Hindu texts include Varuna, who is responsible for the oceans and the waters, and Agni, who is the god of fire.


In Buddhism, angels are known as devas or celestial beings, and are believed to reside in various heavenly realms. These beings are often depicted as beautiful and radiant, with supernatural powers and abilities. The most well-known deva in Buddhism is Maitreya, who is believed to be the future Buddha who will appear on Earth to usher in a new age of enlightenment.

In conclusion, angels are a fascinating and important part of many religious and spiritual traditions. These supernatural beings are believed to reside in the Kingdom of Angels, a realm beyond the physical world where they carry out various tasks and responsibilities on behalf of the divine. Whether they are messengers, protectors, or maintainers of the universe, angels play an important role in helping us connect with the divine and understand our place in the cosmos.

Here are some general sources that can provide more information on the topic of the Hierarchy or Kingdom of Angels and the different types of angels in various religious texts:

  • Bible (Old and New Testaments)
  • Quran and Hadith (Islamic texts)
  • Talmud and Torah (Jewish texts)
  • Hindu scriptures such as the Vedas, Upanishads, and Bhagavad Gita
  • Buddhist texts such as the Pali Canon and the Mahayana Sutras
  • Encyclopedia of Angels by Richard Webster
  • Angels: An Endangered Species by Malcolm Godwin
  • Angels A to Z by James R. Lewis and Evelyn Dorothy Oliver.

Leave a Reply